Hammered Metal Pedestal Bowls

On Friday, I talked about the cheese dome cover I had found at the local Salvation Army and how I was planning to turn two of them into matching pedestal bowls.

To recap, I spraypainted the top of the domes (where the knobs are) and the two terra cotta goblets I had picked up for $.49 each.  Then, I ran a bead of Amazing Goop (since I can’t find E6000 ANYWHERE!) around the top of the goblet and flipped the domes over to glue them.

As you can see, I use a highly involved and sophisticated method of weighting the domes down for best adherence!

I left them overnight to cure, then cleaned the glass portion.  There was spray over, which I haven’t completely gotten rid of yet, but I’m waiting for the glue to fully cure before I get too emphatic with these pretties.

And here they are, finished.

From a slightly different angle.  Please note that the walls and bookcases are not yet done.

And one more… just because the Ogre likes these!

All I had on hand at the moment for display was the candles and rocks.  But I think these will be really versatisle.  Eggs at Easter, candy for Hallowe’en, ornaments at Christmas…

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

I share at the following parties.

Sumo's Sweet Stuff Fine Craft Guild
five days five ways  feature friday free for all
It's Overflowing

8 thoughts on “Hammered Metal Pedestal Bowls

Leave a Reply

