It begins…

with a dream.  Most things do, don’t they?

This one is simple in statement, but a tad more complicated in creation.  The dream?  A beautiful, comfortable, welcoming home.  The challenge?  Budget.  I don’t NEED things off the show room floor, but I WANT things that look like they came from there.

I’m fortunate enough to be handy, inventive and creative.   With that in mind, I’m hoping to document how I take a boring and limiting rented property into a home for myself, my husband, and the semi-feral cat who keeps us because we have opposable thumbs.

The first step is to find a place and prepare for the move.   We’re hoping to move in January, 2012, which gives us a bit of time to get our ducks in a row.   We’ve decided to purge what we currently own to make the move both easier and less expensive.  If we don’t love it, don’t use it, or can replace it once we’ve moved, it goes.  Some things to new homes, some to charity, and some to recycling and garbage.

