How we really live… the living room

THIS is the heart of our home. If we’re not sleeping, we’re here – and so is the cat.

Currently, our living room is zoned. There’s the standard living room area (couch, tv, coffee table, etc), the computer area and the dining/library area. And it fits how we live.

Recently, though, I’ve noticed a trend in what pieces of furniture we use. The beautiful dresser supporting the flat screen TV has become a storage area for my costuming supplies. My computer desk also stores these things. The dining room table holds my sewing machine. The couch is ignored in favour of our computer chairs.

Now, the ignored couch is ignored for a reason. It’s a great napping couch, but a horrible sitting couch. The springs are going, going, almost gone. This piece obviously needs to be replaced. It goes firmly on the purging pile. No regrets – it’s served us well. And it will be one large piece of furniture less to move. We can replace it at the other end, when the budget allows.

As for the rest of the room, we live at our computer desks. We read e-books and check web sites. The Ogre plays WoW to de-stress. I push my keyboard back to allow room for sequins and beads and hand sew there. From my chair, I can see the TV and watch whatever horror/thriller/bad movie I’ve chosen for the night. And we can talk to each other (and sometimes, we even do).

The dining area is outlined by bookcases, and there’s still not enough of them to house all of the books in the house. The dining table is pushed against the wall, and my sewing machine sits squarely at one end. One of my sewing dummies is also in this area. I can clean it up if we ever had people over to eat, but that’s a very rare occurrence.

This area really doesn’t need a lot of purging. The sofa goes, old bills and paperwork need to be destroyed and the excess computer and power cords need to find a place to live. It helps that my Mom and I worked on this room in October. It was painted, re-arranged and organized then.

The good news is that I don’t have to make many decisions in this room.  The bad news is that I have that much more to pack!  Which is another set of posts entirely!

One thought on “How we really live… the living room

  1. This is the right weblog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You understand a lot its virtually exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would need?HaHa). You positively put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just nice!

Leave a Reply

