Kitchen purging…

While eating brunch with the Ogre on Saturday, I came to the decision that the purging MUST begin this weekend.  So, while he slept (he’s working midnight to noon shifts this weekend), I cleaned.  My assistant, our oversized mackeral striped cat,  Aphrael, decided that Dad had the right idea and ensconced herself in bed with him.  Which meant I had the room to myself and no bodies underfoot.  Perfect!

The Ogre assured me that all kitchens look this way behind the doors and drawers.  I’m sure he was humoring me, and it’s one of the many reasons I love him.  Nonetheless, I’m a tad embarrassed to show the befores.  But the afters wouldn’t look nearly as impressive without them!  I will spare you the drawers, and just show what lurked behind the doors!

What I started with…

  There’s more, but I’m sure you get the basic idea!

 

 

 

 

 

What I packed to go to our new place…

Things I wanted to keep, but may not have in use between now and then.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What goes out as donations…

  (All washed and fresh!)  I’ve made arrangements with a local woman’s shelter to do a drop off of items for them.  Since my things are not being used, it really makes me feel good to think that they can help someone make a fresh start.  The linens haven’t been washed yet, so they’re not in the shot.

 

 

 

 

This is what my cupboards looked like Sunday afternoon, when I had finally finished…

Whew!  I feel better.  Well, I feel tired and really want a hot bath, but I truly do feel better!  It took more time than I had anticipated, but I also washed every dish, fork, knife and spoon, AND the insides of all the cabinets and drawers.

One room down.  One less thing to stress about.  Next up, the entry closet and powder room!  But I think those are chores for next weekend.

 

 

Before and After

One thought on “Kitchen purging…

Leave a Reply

