Closet Mudroom Planning

The previous tenant’s had shelving and storage in this area, removing the upper shelf, clothing rod and doors.  We were left with an empty closet shaped space – right off the entryway.  What a perfect place for a mudroom!

To me, a mudroom requires storage for coats, hats, mitts, scarves (it’s winter here in Ottawa!) as well as a place to sit to remove your boots before placing them in the boot tray.  Breaking the storage requirements down leaves me needing at least one shelf, 4-5 hooks for coats, miscellaneous storage containers and, very importantly, a cushy bench to sit on.

We’re on a small budget for this space.  Fortunately, I have found mdf and pine boards for the shelves, an unused coffee table for the bench base, two sofa cushions from a sofa we just got rid off and several Dollarama fabric storage boxes.   I also have a stash of wonderful fabric from my belly dance costuming and the landlord is supplying paint for us.  At this point, I’ll just have to purchase screws, nails, wall anchors and coat hooks.  Oh, and a level!  (Mine has somehow been misplaced)

Here’s my inspiration piece.  I’m looking at switching it up a bit, though, and having a shelf above the bench where the photo frame currently is.

Photo - thislovelyhome.com

We’ve decided on the color scheme for this little area.  The walls and ceiling of the closet will be Benjamin Moore’s Turquoise Powder.  The shelf (shelves) and bench base will be Stone White and the foam cushions will be covered in a rich, rich deep chocolate brown stretch velvet.

I don’t have a woodshop, but a friend of the Ogre’s is taking my wood today to make the cuts.  I’ll get the wood back on Monday or Tuesday and be able to start the shelves then.  I’m hoping to get the repurposing and building done during the week so that I can paint next weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

