Closet mudroom reveal… Part One

When we first moved in three weeks ago, we noticed that the coat closet immediately at hand to the front door had been stripped of its door and closet rod.  There wasn’t even a shelf!

Here it is the first day…

We found places for that stuff to live, and decided on a trial run of the mudroom idea…

Two weeks was more than enough to tell us that having a bench and a place to hang coats, etc, would be PERFECT for us.

So, I patched, taped and primed…

It stayed like this for 5 days while we waited for the landlord to get the Turquoise Powder paint I had been jonesing on.  However, the Benjamin Moore shop he used ran out of the base, so it got delayed.

And I got impatient.

The previous tenants had left several gallons of different paints behind.  I mixed, blended and tweaked until I came up with an Ogre approved color (he REALLY liked the turquoise, so I thought I should get his input before I moved on with something different).

Right about then, I started experiencing a fibromyalgia flare.  If you don’t know what that is, consider yourself fortunate.  If you do know, you have my sympathy and empathy.  Basically, my pain levels went through the roof… enough that I used 4 sick days in one week and stayed home from work drugged and cranky.

But I have minions.  Well, I have one with opposable thumbs, and I plied him with cookies.

So this got done.Before my flareup, I had the mdf for the shelf, the pine boards for the frame, and the coffee table primed and given multiple coats of Benjamin Moore’s Stone White.  It’s a blue/gray white that I really find fresh and crisp.

Once the second coat of blue was on and dried, the tape was removed, the trim painted Stone White and the frame for the shelf installed.  After that was done, the black wrought iron looked silly, so it got painted Stone White, too.Having run the Ogre to the end of his patience, it was time to call it quits for the day.  So he did.

I’m so thankful he’s part of my life.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

