The care and feeding of minions…

I have fibromyalgia, which is a terribley moderately inconvenient chronic pain condition.  I do take medication that really makes the bad days fewer and far between, so I live a very good life on the whole.  I work full time, dance 2-3 nights a week and diy pretty much continually.  On good days, I`m unstoppable!

On bad days, I curl up on my couch with blankies and sulk.  If I`m in too much pain or too medicated to go to work, I`m also unable to diy.

Which is where minions come in.  On my bad days I need lots of help to get things done.  And I`m slowly learning how to ask for it.

But keeping my minions happy and willing is also a big concern.  Aphrael, our semi-feral house cat, is rather easiliy appeased.  Kibble, a clean litter, some stroking and half of the queen sized bed at night is all she really asks for.

The Ogre, on the other hand, requires a little more.  It`s taken years for me to determine the best method of reward/bribe.

Yummy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!

The Ogre works for coffee and cookies.  But not just any cookies.  Warm, fresh out of the oven, home-made cookies.

And I am really a bad cook/baker (except for bread – I make wonderful bread!)  But Costco came to my rescue.

The refrigerated box includes chocolate macadamia nut, chocolate chip and oatmeal chocolate chip.  And they are wonderful.

Neither English Bay or Costco know I exist.  I’m only posting to further educate folks on proper Ogre maintenance.  After all, if our minions aren’t happy, how do we get things (like our mudroom) done?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

