Plans for the entry hallway

As soon as the mudroom was completed (for the time being, at least!), I started planning the first floor entry and hallway.  The painter finished painting the first floor stair and upstairs hall, and the electrician came in to install several light fixtures and sockets and the Ogre was pretty “project’d out”, so I just daydreamed…

This is what I’m starting with…

This hall connects with every space on the first floor and has the Kitchen, Stairway Up, Stairway Down, Living/Dining and Mudroom in direct line of sight.  It has to be a functional pass-through (uncluttered and neat), but also needs to flow nicely from the blue in the mudroom, the Stone White in the Stairway Up and the Louisburg Green planned for the Living/Dining room.  And I don’t want it to be boring.

That’s a lot to expect from a fairly small space, isn’t it?  But I’m confident the hall can handle it!

It just occured to me that I’m decorating in a clockwise fashion.  Mudroom (not in photo), Stairway Up (painted by our terrific painter, Ian), then Living/Dining and on to the Kitchen.  Hmmm.  I’m sure there’s a meaning in there somewhere!

Moving on….

As previously planned, the walls will be painted Benjamin Moore’s Light Yellow, with Stone White for the trim.  The yellow plays nicely with the blue in the mudroom, and brightens up the space.  It also leads us down the hall to the to-be-green living room.  The flooring doesn’t change, although the runner on the floor is going to have a short life, hopefully!

Wall

Trim

The yellow will continue downward to the Stairway Down.  There’s no door there, so taking the color to the basement just flows nicely.

There’s a lot of mudding to be done.  The previous tenants left us with lovely holes in the wall.  Once those are corrected, I’ll have to prime to get rid of the horrid ever-so-lovely mustardy-tan.

The framework is pretty basic.  The walls will be yellow.  The trim will be white.  I’m not sure yet about the closet doors.  They desperately need a coat of paint, but I’m not sure which color it will be.  That may just be a wait and see situation!  The mirror frame will be white, however.  And I’ve made a paper roll medallion painted in Stone White to trim out the boring little ceiling fixture.  Additional texture is never a bad thing!

The long wall on the right is begging for attention.  The door bell unit is just about centered, and certainly can’t be ignored!  I think I’ve come up with something to make it less of a focal point, though.

There’s still lots of pine boards from the futon frame I dismantled before we moved.  I’ve put together a little picture shelf – 54″ long and 3 3/8″ deep painted in Stone White.

Before we actually moved in here, I had imagined a harlequin treatment inspired by Wendy and Alex’s entrance hall at Old Town Home, but living with this space has changed my mind.  There’s just too many breaks in the walls!  However, I did purchase 45 one-inch mirrors to be used at the diamond points.  I think they’ll pick up the front edge of the shelf nicely.

Once the walls are painted, I’ll be able to mount it.  And decorate it… which is the fun part!

The Ogre and I received a pair of beautiful turned wood candlesticks as a wedding gift.  Unfortunately, the last 2.5 decades haven’t exactly been gentle to them.  So, out came the DecorArt Burgundy craft paint…. and some circular black metal candle holders that just begged to be re-purposed.

Since the burgundy paint was  in my hand, the metal sconces I bought 12 years ago in Columbia, SC, got a coat or two as well.  I think the burgundy against the yellow and white will really catch the eye!

Also on the project pile is a series of calendar posters that we purchased in 2005.  They’re a series of advertising art from the 1930’s.  Unfortunately, each 11 X 17 image has a second image on it’s reverse side… and both sides are absolutely beautiful.  I’m hoping to get copies made of half of the images, leaving me with 8 originals and 8 copies.  My absolute favorites will get mounted or framed for the photo/display shelf and the remainder can be used on the Stairway Up.  That will create additional continuity.

54″ is a lot of real estate to decorate with tchotkes, and 3 3/8″ is not a great amount of depth to work with .   At this point, I can “see” the wall candle sconces, the candle holders and the advertising art.  Faux or real plants would also work here, I think.  They’d have to be something that really enjoys shade, though.  The amount of actual light they’d get would be very little.

The fabric I scored two weeks ago ($3.25!) was purchased with a plan in mind to make a panel curtain for the doorway to the basement.  We spend most of our time down there, and the noise from three computers and an air purifier travels REALLY well!  As does paint fumes, sawdust, etc…  A nice little curtain will help prevent some of that, but still let the four foot have access to every place her humans go.

The plan for the curtain involves the blue paint from the mudroom, the yellow, green, white and burgundy and some fabric medium.  The brocade should paint up fairly well, I think – and it’ll just be “paint by numbers” as the pattern is right there in the weave.

And here is where I draw a blank.  I think the basic plan is sound, but I’m not “seeing” it fleshed out.  I suppose the area will grow into itself in time, but I’m not the most patient of women!

It’s nice to have a plan, though.  I really do work better with one, I think.  And I can fit the little projects in between the large, so there’s always a bit of progress!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

