$3.99 + $.99 X 2 = Love!!!!!

It all started with two lamp bases from the Salvation Army.  Identical twins with curves in all the right places!  Beautiful swirling bases flowing into a really, really lovely shape.  The only problem?  They were a horrible chocolate brown.

One of two - Not a very pretty brown...

On the same trip, I happened upon two $.99 lamp shades.  Mismatched in fabric, but identical in size.

One of two mismatched shades

I sanded, primed and painted the bases.  Once again, I used my white “Oops!” paint.  The shades got recovered in a red fabric I had on hand.

Since the insides were a little sloppy, I purchased 4 metres of this beautiful white gimp and applied it on the inside of the shade.

Crisp, white, beautiful gimp covering up a sloppy glue job!

Here’s an after and before!

And one with the bulb on…Look at that lovely glow!  I think I’m in love.

The pair are destined for a very happy life on my sofa table.  Once I get/make/repurpose a sofa table, that is!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “$3.99 + $.99 X 2 = Love!!!!!

  1. You are just the queen of savings!

    I am actually coming to your site re. the FOLLOWER linky blog hop, and am following you ! 🙂 Will you follow me back?? Thank you so much when you do.

    PLUS: There is also a party on our blog, where you can feature ‘your best creative work’. There are some great projects to see already, but we want to see your work!

    Anyhow, use this link both to FOLLOW and to PARTY:
    http://www.FineCraftGuild.com/party/

    Hope to seeing you around!!
    Have a happy, creative day!

Leave a Reply

