Wee Wallet Wednesday – $0 spent!

Those of us who rent our homes are all too familiar with lights like this…

They do the job, but there’s certainly nothing eye catching or elegant about them.  Just this little, insignificant globe hanging up in the ceiling.  Not even a medallion to make it pretty.

But wait!

I didn’t want to BUY a medallion.  Not only do they get pricey (the pretty ones, anyway), there’s the whole mounting permanently thing.  So, I decided to make one.

Out of paper towel and toilet paper rolls.

There are lots of wonderful tutorials out there about using paper rolls as the building blocks of art, so I won’t bore you with details.

I’ll just show you the after.

Ahhhh.  That’s better.  And it looks really nice when the light is on, too!

I made it using paper rolls – free.  Painted it with Benjamin Moore’s Stone White that was left over from other projects – free.  Mounted it with scraps of 3M Strips that I used to mount other things – free.

And now, my insignificant little globe light looks like something!  And that makes me a happier renter!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Wee Wallet Wednesday – $0 spent!

  1. Came by and followed you on Linky from Create with Joy’s blog hop. I would love a follow back when you get the chance. Thanks so much and have a great day!

    Mary@http://www.mmbearcupoftea.com

  2. Making my visits from the Linky Follower party hop. It is so fun getting to know all of you.

    If you want to link up any projects to my Sunday party it is open all week and goes up every Sunday.

    Cheri from Its So Very Cheri

Leave a Reply

