Laying it all out…

That’s my new challenge, people.  Laying it all out.

Furniture, that is.

You see, I have an L-shaped living/dining area.  And I have all of this to fit into it…

Photo NOT taken in my home

Add in a 3’X3′ coffee table, a console table and fifty bajillion bookcases and you’ll begin to see the depths of my difficulty!

This awkward space needs to have a dining area, a seating area AND a library area.  Did I mention I also want a fireplace?

The space looks sort of like this now.  (Don’t judge… I haven’t started working on it yet so it’s been a “dump” space.)

Bad photos.  Very bad.  Bad blogger!  But if you think I’m gonna give you crystal clear shots of THIS mess, you have another think comin’!

The plan now is to play with different arrangements while I fill the holes in the walls.  All of the books may just get shoved back in the boxes for this step, but the Ogre takes a couple with him to work every shift… and they’re spur of the moment picks, so that poses a bit of a difficulty, too.

I could probably do it all on paper BEFORE I move things, but that doesn’t really address sight lines in a method I can visualize.  I sort of have to SEE it for real to get a sense of whether it will work.

I know what I see in my head.  A beautiful green background with crisp white bookshelves as the background to all of this.  I think I can make that happen.

I’m just not sure how yet!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

