Reupholstered chair… again!

I first got these chairs when we lived in Toronto in 2000.  They were hotel surplus – inexpensive and sturdy.  I have no idea how old they were then, but a guess would be 10 years or so.

For the first year or so, I kept them just as they came.

Original fabric
Nice legs!

When we were living in Columbia, SC, I got a ton of fabric from Fabric.com.  Enough to do a couch, drapes for my patio door, an ottoman and both of these chairs.

The fabric wasn’t the best of choices, but they held up well for 7 or so years.  Then, we got our cat.  And, life with Aphrael has not been kind to these beauties.

It was more than time for a change… either the dumpster or a re-do.  Since I’m opposed to letting good furniture hit the curb, and have the skills to re-do, it was a no brainer.

First, I pulled off all of the green fabric I had covered the original in.  Then I peeled off the original fabric.  I originally intended to keep it to make a pattern, but it was so brittle, dirty and just plain old, it ended up in the garbage.

The strapping used on the seat and back are a little stretched, but I’m not willing to undo or re-do them.  That’s a two person job, really, and I don’t actually have the right tools.  So, instead of making her nekkid, I just stripped this little girl down to her skivvies!

It took almost 5 hours for this, by the way.  The folks who made this made it very well and there were fifty bijillion staples to remove.  I actually got almost all of them out.  That way, when I want to staple the fabric back on, I won’t have to worry about finding a staple free place!

Once she was disrobed, I could see that her front legs had gotten a tad bit knock-kneed.  To fix this, I shimmed at the top of the leg and used Gorilla glue to hold it all.

Then I sprayed her with disinfectant.  Since I’m not going to take her all the way back to the wood, I want the foam and padding that’s currently there to be as clean as I can get it.

And this is where I left her for the night.

She’s got great lines.  To save fabric and to show off those curvy gams, I’m going to just cover the seat and back.  I’ll sand down her legs next and paint them.  Black, I think.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Reupholstered chair… again!

  1. The chair looks to have great bones and it should look great recovered. Found you via the Linky hop and have become your newest Linky follower. Hope you have a chance to visit and perhaps follow me back.

Leave a Reply

