Reupholstered chair… Prepping her legs…

After gluing and reinforcing her legs, she sat overnight for everything to set up.  A quick scuff sand of the finish and I wiped the legs down with paper towel.  When I’m repainting something, I usually just use nail polish remover with acetone on a paper towel to give it a swipe after sanding.  The nail polish remover is inexpensive, and cuts the shine on whatever finish was there before.  I wouldn’t use it on anything that I was going to stain, though.  I’m not sure what it does to the fibers of the wood and it might open them too much.

Here’s how they looked when this was finished.

The other atypical material I use is craft paint.  Simple, available at the Dollarama, Crafter’s Acrylic by DecorArt.  I can mix the shade/color I want and don’t spend a mint.  I add Varathane Diamond Wood Gloss to the craft paint to add durability and a touch of shine.

Depending upon the amount of Varathane, the paint can be rather sheer in coverage.  Sometimes, that’s a wonderful thing as it can let wood grain really show through.  This time, however, I wanted richer color, so I painted multiple coats.

Each coat gets sanded lightly before the next is applied.  I just use a fine sanding sponge.  In order to make the finish tough enough to stand up to getting knocked around a bit, I ended up with 5 coats of the paint/gloss mixture and 3 coats of the gloss alone.  I can’t get a photo that actually shows the depth, but it does give a nice finish.

Once this dries overnight, I’ll move on to the padding.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

