Reupholstered chair… Padding those curves!

After the paint and gloss dried on those lovely legs, it was time to add a bit more padding to this girl.

The back simply consisted of strapping.  The front and seat did have cotton padding underneath the foam.  However, the strapping had loosened.  I don’t have the tools or inclination to fix those straps, so I simply added more foam.

The foam I used came from a zoned mattress topper I had on the spare bed.  My guests will just have to suffer!  (Actually, I’m hoping to get that fixed before we actually have any guests!)

Here’s a shot of that foam before it met my scissors.

I didn’t take photos of the next step, but I’ll describe it as best I can.  First, I cut a shape similar to the seat, but several inches smaller all around.  This is supposed to take care of a bit of the sag.  Then, to give a more even layer, I cut one the same size as the seat.  To smooth it all out, I wrapped the entire seat down to the frame in the foam.

This photo shows the seat and the back with only one layer of foam.  Just as I did for the seat, I extended the foam to the back end of the frame.

At this point, I attached foam at the lower back of the seat frame and brought it up and over the back.  I left enough excess to tuck in between the back and the seat.  Because there’s a curve at the top, I sliced into the foam and brought it over to the back.  As you can see, hot glue is NOT the preferred method of attachment by professionals.  But I hadn’t found the staples for my gun, so I made do.  This will all be covered by the muslin.

And this is where this lady was finished for the day.  She certainly looks a lot more comfortable than she did before.  And she passed the Ogre’s “sit test”!

Next step will be the muslin.  I may be making do with materials, but I am going to do each step as best as I can!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

