Saint Patrick’s Day Wreath!

I didn’t have any holiday decorations for any holiday/celebratory day other than Christmas when we moved into this townhome.  But, I came to the conclusion that it was important to celebrate.

This means I HAVE to come up withat least one thing for each calendar event.  Cheap is good.  Cheerful is good, too.  But the “thing” I come up with HAS to be something I can reuse again for the next year.  Just as I built my Christmas ornament collection, I’m hoping to build a collection for other events.

I have a protected front door.  There’s a glass and screen door between it and the world.  This gives me a great place to hang a wreath – and not worry too much about the weatherproofness of the materials.

This wreath was made from a wire coat hanger, bent into a circle.  I then wrapped the wire with a strip of craft foam.

Sometimes, I get so involved in a project, I forget to take photos of the “during”.  This was one of those times.

Basically, I cut out shamrocks from kelly green craft foam.  I painted some of them a darker green, and some a lighter, yellow-green.  Once everything was dry, I hotglued them to the base.

And this is what I ended up with.

A little blah, no?  Bland and boring.

But a trip to the Dollarama yielded this.

A little strategic cutting and glueing and I’ve got a fun wreath for my front door. 

It’s not elegant and regal, but it sure is cheerful and fun!

Total cost?  $2.00  (I had the paint and coat hanger on hand.)

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

