Planning the living room…

Right now, as I type, my trainwreck of a living room looks like this…

This room gets absolutely no use at the moment.  We live in the basement with our computers and each other.

However, I’m only able to walk past this mess soooooo many times before something snaps.

So it’s time to start planning.

First, the wall color…

Louisburg Green - already purchased

Then, the trim and bookcases…

Stone White - already purchased

And that’s as far as the planning has gotten, color-wise.

What’s gone farther is the planning for layout.  I need want this area to serve several functions.  I’d like a place to eat meals, a place to sit with friends away from technology, and a place to curl up with a good book and an attack cat.

And a fireplace.  I WANT a fireplace.  Mostly for the mantle, I think.  We can’t have a real one here, so my familial fascination with gathering around the fire after dark won’t be indulged.  But I can fake it, I think!

A fireplace would also be the perfect focal point in the center of a bookcase wall.  And we do need a bookcase wall – perhaps two.

I have the upholstered pieces (and have plans for them), the dining room pieces, but I’m short bookcases.  I think we’ll be looking for some Billy’s from Ikea.  In white, to merge with the trim color.  At this point, it looks like 5 large ones will do the job, so that’s the number on my wishlist.

Tentatively, I’m hoping for a floorplan similar to this one.  (Absolutely NOT in scale).I’m not sure that this will work.  It’s really crowded where the chairs and bookcases are.  Nonetheless, it’s a start in the planning process!

Any recommendations on furniture placement would be very gratefully accepted!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Planning the living room…

  1. Thank you so much for the encouragement! I’ve moved the upholstered pieces into quasi-position, and I’m moving on to doing the bookcases this week. I’ll show results as soon as I have them!

  2. You probably don’t need to worry too much about the chairs being crowded against the bookcases. It lends to a cozy effect. After all, it’s not a library or a bookstore, right? The suggestion of books that are loved and read gives a very restful feel. Best of luck with your renovation! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

