Reupholstered chair… More muslin!

 

When I last posted, the back had been pinned to the boxing strip.  That was hand sewn (’cause I’m weird special that way!).

I pinned this to the back of the chair again, making sure it was centered and exactly in place.  Then I started smoothing the piece of fabric that is going to be the front of the “back”.

From here, I just followed the same procedure I used to fit the back to the boxing strip.

I pinned until I got a nice, smooth fit.

Then I marked the seam line with marker.

And unpinned the whole thing.  I cut a rough 1/4″ – 1/2″ seam allowance, folded the piece in half and evened up the edges.

I pinned the boxing strip to the front right sides together, and sewed the entire seam.  Because of how upholstered chairs are shaped, I left a few inches free on the outside edge of each side.  This gives me fabric to tuck between the back and the seat for a nice, finished looking fit.

Here’s the front with the muslin.

If you look closely at the lower right side of the back, you can see the unsewn end of the boxing strip.  That will be attached to the seat fabric when it’s time.

Here’s the back.I’ve left several inches to be pulled under the chair and stapled tightly.  I’ll only do that once the seat is also on the piece.

Next step is fitting the seat.  That’s another post!

 

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Reupholstered chair… More muslin!

Leave a Reply

