Friday Fangles…

I like pedestals.  White, black, pewter, charcoal, silver, metallic… you name it!  There’s something about an elevated platform that just thrills me.

I also like cloches, and have been keeping my eye out at the local thrift stores for cheese domes, anniversary clocks and anything else that could be converted into a cloche.  Which has led me to owning 3 glass domes of some sort with no bases to mount them on!  Obviously something needed to be done.

This week, at my local Salvation Army, I found a cheese board dome for $.99.

While I was looking for an appropriately sized plate or board to use with it, I had a revelation.  Domes DON’T have to ALWAYS go right side up!  They could be used as bowls.

If only there were some way to hold them upright.  Oh, if only….

And then I saw these…

Ceramic goblets.  Not decoratively to my taste, but strong and sturdy, with a good balance and a nice shape.  The handle and top of the dome fits PERFECTLY into the cup.  And they were $.49 each.   With the bases painted, and the domes glued in, I’d have lovely glass bowls on PEDESTALS!

Before I glue them together, though, I’ll have to paint the handle and top of the dome the same color I painted the ceramic base.  The reason for this is to give a unified look and mask any glue leakage when viewing from the top (when the bowl is empty).

I was about to fall back on my inexpensive supplies of Dollarama paint and brushes, but I know my spray painting skills need work.  So I splurged and bought a can.  And some Amazing Goop, since I can’t seem to find any E6000!

I don’t have time right now to finish this project, as technology is calling out my name, but the next steps will be is to make a spray box and tape off the cheese domes.

I’m hoping that the end result is similar to the pedestal candy bowls done by Kristen at My Covered Bridge .  Well, my bases will be hammered black metal, not chrome, but you get the idea!

I’ll post the results as soon as I have them!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

