Line of sight…

We all know that there are some spaces that just beckon you inward.  And some that don`t seem nearly as inviting.  This all happens from the first impression, the first look you get at or into a room.

This is what you see when you walk down the hall to my living room.

Take a few steps, and this is your view…

When you’re just before the threshold, this is what you see…

Now, let’s ignore EVERYTHING but the placement of the furniture, H’OK?  The poor lighting – forget it.  The sewing machine box and books on the bookcases – invisible to your eyes.  The icky curtain (that keeps drafts out most wonderfully!) – it simply does not exist.  We’re playing pretend here, on a large scale!

The overlay above the doorway is strong enough to grab the eye, but not overwhelm.  It catches attention before you see the room.  (Right now, that’s a very good thing!)  The shelf on the right hand wall also draws the perspective down to the doorway.  Everything seems to point in to this place.  It’s my job to make it a place worth pointing to.

This placement works for us.  As I walk down the hall, I can see the chairs…  soft, comfy chairs waiting for me to sit my tired self in them.  Heck, there’s even room on the coffee table for me to put a) a coffee cup, b) a glass of wine and/or c) my feet… (not that feet EVER get put on coffee tables!)

Eventually, the window treatment will leave a good portion of the patio door windows visible.  This will extend the view into our postage stamp sized back “yard”.  One of my best friends is a wonderful gardener, and I’m counting on her expertise to make that a pretty space, too.  The curtains will frame the view, not block it.

If this room were finished, there’d also be fresh paint on the walls and bookcases.  The furniture would be wearing it’s pretty new slipcovers.  The window would NOT be covered in peachy pink heavy velvet, and there just might be an area rug.  Art and accessories would personalize the space, and it would look far less “early matrimonial”.

Obviously, the room’s not done.  But I think I’ve finally gotten the furniture placement right.  For our lives, if for no one elses’!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

 

2 thoughts on “Line of sight…

    • Thanks! It’s not a big space, and I really want it to work hard, so I’ve been juggling it around. I think this is the keeper, though.

Leave a Reply

