Pain days…

I have fibromyalgia.  Fibro is a chronic pain condition.  I’m one of the fortunate ones in that I have far more good days than bad.  I’m able to hold a full time job and teach dance a couple of nights a week.  Mostly.

About 2 days a month, I have flareups.  Those are not good days.  I had a bad Monday and had to call in sick to work.  It was one of THOSE days.

Days when getting out of bed hurts too much.

Days when the Ogre has to help me with even the most simple things, because my muscles just won’t work.

Days when I worry that this is what I’ll be like all the time when I get older.

Days when I think the medication just isn’t working at all.

Days when I worry that I won’t be able to keep working… or dancing… or diy’ing.

Then, the pain and stiffness fades, and I’m back to my normal.

And I realize how truly blessed I actually am.

I’m not writing this to ask for sympathy – or even empathy.  It’s more an explanation of why things take longer for me to complete sometimes… and why I try not to state deadlines in my posts.

It’s also, in a very small way, intended to encourage any of you with similar challenges.  Take your good days and run with them.  When the bad days hit, do what you have to do to make it through them… and don’t apologize or feel guilty.  We all have our hurdles.  They don’t make us less than the people we are or aspire to be.  They simply are.

And we are so very much more than that, aren’t we?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Pain days…

  1. Pingback: Asleep in the back « Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars

Leave a Reply

