Killing grass in my own backyard!

Now, before you call the Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Flora, I have a good reason to destroy the grass in my back yard.  Yes, I really do.  Several reasons, as a matter of fact.

1.  The sod that was laid (whenever THAT was) wasn’t properly rolled.  I could literally lift up strips of it if I chose.  That wouldn’t be very attractive once the dry weather hits, now would it?

2.  25 square feet of grass really doesn’t add anything to the value or usage of my back yard – which is tiny as it is!

3.  The grass was all in the eastern side of the yard – the west had patio tile.   The ratio of grass to tile was probably 2 to 3.

4.  I don’t own a mower.  Or trimmer.  Or edger.  Or any other grass related tool.  And paying for something to care for spindly, sparse grass just doesn’t work for me.

So, I am in the process of killing it.  If you’re squeamish, let’s call it “removing”.

It’s supposed to be a wonderfully un-seasonally warm weekend here, so I thought I’d take the time to first tidy up my back yard and then plan a new patio arrangement.  A bowling alley patio really isn’t something I’d get a lot of use out of and that’s what was there before.

Now, before you think I’m a far messier person than I’d like to believe I am, I want to reassure you that this is what I FOUND in our backyard.  We moved into this home when the snow was on the ground, and it’s only been in the last two weeks that I saw this mess.

I cleaned this all out on Thursday night, to hit the Friday garbage.  And I was rewarded by getting 6 bags out of the deal.  SIX!!!

I did feel better when I had that accomplished, but then I could see the mis-matched patio stones.  Believe it or not, there are five different patterns here.

The first is a series of 2′ X 2′  squares with a small diamond pattern.  9 of a trellis pattern in 20″ X 30″.  4 of a 2′ X 2′ square pattern tile.  2 red tiles in a trellis pattern and about 8 12″ X 12″ square patterned tile. There’s also a scalloped brick colored edging tile.

What a mess.  It honestly looked like people just kept adding tiles here and there, with no rhyme or reason.

Obviously, that HAS to change.

So, when I got home from work on Friday night, I  put on my painting clothes, my rubber booties and my work gloves.  I started manhandling those patio times out of the ground and moved them into stacks.  Each type of tile will get it’s own tidy pile until I figure out where they will live.

Here’s what it looked like when I finished for the evening.  Just an hour’s worth of work… Because the Ogre MADE me come in for the nummy dinner he cooked.

This is obviously the middle part of this project.    The weather this weekend is supposed to be marvelous – warm and bright.  I’m hoping to finish the demolition portion of this project done on Saturday.  I’m not sure if I’ll move forward on the rebuilding portion yet.  That may have to wait a while longer.

First, of course, I have to plan where the stones are going to go.  Those darn things are heavy!  I don’t want to move them any more than I have to.

And the patio table and chairs?  $20 at the Salvation Army!  I am sooooo the win.  Two chairs and a glass topped table.  The chairs need cushions or a cover, but I’ve got a plan for that, too.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Killing grass in my own backyard!

  1. Well done! It’s not easy starting a messy job like that. Just think, now you’ve got that lot out of the way, you can design it however you want. Start from scratch 🙂

Leave a Reply

