Project list and timeline… sort of.

When we first moved in January, I started working on the closet mudroom and hallway. The landlord had a painter in to do the stairway to the second floor as well as the hall and bath upstairs. Because of this, the first spaces you see when you walk into our home are relatively “done”. They promise much more than the rest of our home delivers, though.

Originally, I had hoped to move a little bit faster in getting the foundations of all the rooms finished. But I was stressing myself too much and really pushed myself too far. Steady and slow is going to win my race. (I just have to remember that!)

Still, it’s high time for me to decide what needs doing, where and when. Or, at least, give myself a to-do list with items prioritized by timeline. No specific dates, just an order of what room/project(s) needs finishing first.

Are you ready?

Take a deep breath.

Here we go.

Number one with a bullet is my living room. I’d like the bones of this room finished by mid-April or so. Then, I could spend the rest of the month fiddling with the smaller projects.

This room needs the following projects to have a good foundation (hopefully finished by mid-April):

1. Patch walls and sand
2. Prime – particularly the dark brown areas!
3. Paint walls and trim
4. Purchase new bookcases and assemble
5. Purchase or make new curtains and sheers for the patio door

And these are the fiddley things (Would like to complete by mid-May):

6. Refinish console table
7. Refinish Malm Headboard
8. Strip and redo dining room glass tabletop
9. Refinish dining table base
10. Refinish coffee table
11. Find “perfect” end table for beside couch
12. Hang artwook and decorate – including the bookcases!

When Mom comes in July, I’m hoping we can get a start on slipcovering my couch and chair. For that, I’m going to have to make a decision on color and fabric, which I’m no where near ready to do right now.

After the slipcovering, I’ll start planning toward my faux fireplace. That will pretty much be the final project of any size for the living/dining room areas.

You know, I’m not sure if listing this all out intimidates me or inspires me. There seems to be soooo much to do, but it feels great to have it out in the world instead of just inside my head. And I can really “see” what the room is going to look like when it’s done.

Next up is actually starting to cross things off the list – after doing them of, course!

Does anyone else do this? Write lists that both frighten and exhilarate? Does seeing it all out on paper meake it harder or easier for you? I’d love to know which side of the fence you come down on – or if you, like me, are precariously balancing on the top rail!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Project list and timeline… sort of.

Leave a Reply

