Gray velvet with dressmaker details…

I’ve been documenting the reupholstery of my chair from the beginning, and I’m finally at the fun part!  The muslin’s done and it’s time to move on to the decorative fabric layer.

I’ve chosen a beautiful stretch velvet in mid-toned grey from my stash.  It’s a really beautiful, rich fabric that has the added bonus of not showing my cat’s claw marks!

Just a plain chair would be lovely in this fabric, but I’m planning to take it up a notch or two.  I saw some chrome nail studded chairs at Winner’s not that long ago and it got me thinking.  I don’t have upholstery tacks but I do have lots of bling from my dance costuming.  I really don’t see why I can’t embellish this chair with the same things I add to my costumes!

For that matter, I don’t see why I can’t add some details that have been popular in clothing in the last few years…. like gathers or rusching.  No ruffles.  I’m not about the ruffles.  At all.

Details like this, though, thrill my heart.

Ruching.  And beading.

Swoon.

Yes, I KNOW it’s just a chair.  But it’s my chair, and she can wear a party dress if I say it’s OK.

Trust me…. It is more than OK!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Gray velvet with dressmaker details…

Leave a Reply

