Taking time to plan.

We’ve been in this townhouse for two full months now, though I’ve been preparing for the move since November (which gives a 5 month time period).  Sometimes it feels like I’ve been running from project to project, room to room, idea to idea without taking time to savor anything.  There’s always so much left to do, and so much I’d like to accomplish that I’ve been starting to feel a bit overwhelmed.  Of course, it doesn’t really help that we’re moving into busy season at work.  Or that this last week of beautiful weather made me realize that there’s yet another room for me to get done!

I’ve never had a garden or even used any patio or decks attached to our rentals.  Ever.  As a couple, we are just not outdoor people.  As an individual, I’ve always been too busy to “take time to sit” in the great outdoors.  Something’s shifted for me, though.  As I walk or drive home, my back yard beckons to me and there is a part of me that’s getting very excited about being able to spend time in a green space.  Quietly, with a book.  Puttering with a trowel.  Calmly with a cool drink.  Exuberantly with a friend or two!

The only difficulty is that I don’t have a green space.  Yet.  And that’s the “yet another room” that has pushed me into overwhelm.  Between my ignorance and inexperience, I’m going to try to turn this…

Into a space inspired by these…

Source: canadiangardening.com via Chaisson on Pinterest

Source: houzz.com via Chaisson on Pinterest

The only thing that’s allowing me to think I can do this is that I have a gardening friend.  Without her, I’d simply settle for patio stones and cheap plastic furniture – which I would never, ever use.

Just as in any other room, I want this one to be done right.  And that means I need a plan.  Since my friend Roxane  is going to help me with plant type and placement, I’m going to concentrate on the physical layout of this room.  (Working to my strengths, in a manner of speaking!)

I’ve decided to take this week to plan.  I’ve formulated a plan for my living room projects here.  I’ll probably do something very similar for the patio.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Taking time to plan.

    • Thank you for reading, Marilyn! You’re absolutely right. Planning is the most critical part. Only when I have a plan can I deviate from it!

  1. Oh wow that could really look lovely when you’re done. I’ve begun working a lot on our landscaping lately too. It’s hard work! But it does make me happy, so I’m starting to buck up & make the effort. I think our yard is going to be much more enjoyable this year & it looks like yours will be too!!

    • It is hard work, isn’t it Sarah! Those concrete pavers are HEAVY! And I haven’t had the heart to even think about digging yet!

Leave a Reply

