On the menu for the Dining Room!

I’ve decided that this weekend is the time I FINALLY start tackling the living/dining room.  On the menu?  Moving furniture from the dining area to the living area, filling holes, priming, and (perhaps) even painting three walls.  That would be a MAJOR accomplishment, honestly!

My original plan for this room (seen here) has been revamped.  The wall colors will be the same, but I’ve reconfigured the layout to something a little more navigable.  The table and console are actually going to exchange walls.  That leaves me with a greater visual area around the sofa.  We’ve been living with the new layout for a few weeks, and it’s working nicely.

Now, to tackle the foundation of the space.  And, Oh. My. Goodness.  does this space need the foundation tackled…

We’ve lived with this for long enough.  It’s time to say goodbye to someone else’s grunge and bring in OUR shiny, clean and, dare I say, TASTEFUL decor.

First, the messy holes in the wall will disappear.  Then, the flesh-toned beige and chocolate will be covered by two nice coats of primer.  Once that is accomplished, I’ll be slappin’ some beautiful Louisburg Green by Benjamin Moore on the walls and using my preferred Stone White for the trim.  The colors should look something like this…

This is a capture of the Sherwin Williams Visualizer… it’s a terrific tool – even if you’re not using their paint!

This whole home is an adventure in color for me.  No more builder’s beige, taupe and pale blue.  It’s a bit frightening – even when I’m NOT paying for the paint!

How about you?  Are you stepping out of your comfort zone with color?  Are you redoing any rooms right now?  I’d love to hear about it.

I’d like to apologize to whoever likes chocolate brown and flesh toned beige.  I do not mean to disparage your taste.  Done properly, the color scheme COULD be beautiful.  The previous tenants, however, did NOT do this properly.  EPIC FAIL, as far as I’m concerned.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “On the menu for the Dining Room!

  1. Hi Liz. I found you at Nutmeg Place and I loved your comment on Meg’s post about what she learned from blogging so I thought I would come over for a visit.

    I have had to replace many painted over outlets but never have I seen the trim painted in different contrasting colors. How do people come up with these ideas? I love the green you have picked for your dining room. It reminds me of a color I used in our master bedroom in our last house. I loved that room. I just recently painted my living room and I really wanted to go with green but chickened out (it is a really big room) and painted my powder room green instead. And I love it. Both are recent posts if you want to check them out.

    I can’t wait to check out your other posts/
    Traci

    • Thanks for visiting, Traci! It is a lovely green, and I’m hoping it works. If not, though, it’s really just paint, right?

Leave a Reply

