Just never enough time…

Am I the only one who feels that there’s just never enough time in the day to get everything done?  Between work, projects, dance and silly things like meals and sleep, there are days that I truly feel I’m overwhelming myself.

And, let’s be frank.  I’m doing this to myself.  Yes, I do have to work for a living.  That takes 8 hours of my day – plus the half hour getting there and back again.  I’m left with 15.5 hours to spend as I choose.

Sleep is a requirement for me.  If I don’t sleep, my muscles just won’t work properly and I get hit with persistant mid-grade joint and muscle pain.  So, we knock of 8-9 hours for that daily.  (I’m not asleep that whole time, but any less than that spent in down time and I’m really in a fair amount of pain.)

We’re at 6.5 hours now.  And how do I choose to spend my 6.5 free hours?  Well, there’s most likely and hour spent with meal prep and eating, an hour or so with personal cleanliness… Now I’ve got 4.5 hours.  And I normally spend them with projects, blogging, and spending time with the Ogre.  Or working on dance practises, choreography or lesson plans.

I KNOW I’m going to have to re-evaluate that and start taking a bit of time to just be “down”.  Meditative time, so to speak, but I’m not entirely sure where or how to start!

Finding balance is not something I’ve ever been very good at.  I’m usually the person who pushes until I fall down… and then I’m forced to take time to heal.  I know I’m not the only person who is afraid that she’ll miss something, or won’t get everything done, but I’d like to create a new paradigm for myself – one that incorporates time for all the roles in my life.

So, here’s a question for you.  How do you make time for yourself and for all of the roles you need to play?  What are your tips and tricks to shut down the world and just rejuvenate?  I’d be VERY interested in knowing.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

