Working in the Dining Area

Friday evening, when I got home from work, I did not immediately settle into “Thompson Time” (time spent with just the Ogre and I, chillaxin’).  I changed into my working clothes and moved furniture out of the dining area while he made us a lovely dinner.  That was the end of the home improvement, though.  We spent the rest of the evening on our computers, sharing things we stumbled upon.

I started Saturday morning, bright and early (well, bright and early for me!).  First, I removed the electrical fixture plates, then all of the nails and anchors from the three walls I worked on.  These all came from one of the three.  The nails and the anchors were not in the same spots, btw.  And these are the ones that were left behind.  There were at least as many empty holes!

With the walls empty of nails, but full of holes, I dug out my drywall filler and spatula.  Instead of trying to get full coverage in one coat, I applied a thin layer.  This was enough for the pinholes, and gave the larger holes a base coat.  A second coat was applied in some areas, and a third coat for the really deep holes.

Here’s a shot of the walls with the last of the filler applied.  There were a LOT of holes here.  I have no idea what the previous tenants had displayed, but they obviously believed that more is more!

The next stage involved my sanding sponges.  I just sanded the filled areas until they were smooth and flush with the surrounding area.  There was a great deal of dust, and I really should have worn a mask for this.

After the sanding, I vacuumed up the dust and grabbed a damp mop.  The walls got a quick wipe down to remove the excess powder from the paint surface.

Once this was accomplished, it was time for taping off the floor.  Because I was going to prime the entire surface, including baseboards, I didn’t have to worry about any other taping.  The wall color had been spattered on the ceiling, so I planned on getting up into that area as well.

(Right about this time, my body determined it was time for medication and a hot bath.  My physical limit had been reached.

Not being a terribly intelligent woman, I took the muscle relaxants and kept on going.  Really, I just wanted to get this done, and stopping would mean that I wouldn’t be able to do anything else until the next day.  Sometimes, it’s worth pushing the limits a bit – even if I have to pay for it later!)

Anyhooooo, on to the primer.  One coat just wasn’t going to do here at all, at all.  The pinky beige walls got two coats, and the chocolate walls got FOUR!  That’s right… FOUR coats of primer to get this…

(Note to self – tell landlord we need more primer!)

And this is where I left everything for the evening.

Sunday morning it was FINALLY time to actually apply color.  Whew.  I wondered if I’d ever get here!

The Louisburg Green from Benjamin Moore is a wonderful woody green.  It reminds me of the underlayer in the forest.. that sagey, mossy color that forms a background to everything else.   I chose it in January, and I was very much influenced by the winter that surrounded me then.  Now that it’s spring, I think I like it even more!

It’s darker than the peachy beige  that was on the wall, but much, much lighter than that dark chocolate that was here.  It’s not a big space, so going with a mid-range paint seemed to make more sense to me.  I’ve usually had lighter spaces, and been a big wimp about color so it seems like an adventure to me!

This room hasn’t been fully painted yet.  I haven’t painted the trim yet – mostly due to the “payback factor” I mentioned above.  Also, there’s still the living area to get to.  That, unfortunately, will involve lots of filling as well as priming, too.  That’s for next weekend, though!

So, what do you think?  Isn’t that green wonderful!  It almost looks gray in some lights.  I think it’ll make a great backdrop for the furniture and any art I manage to find!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Working in the Dining Area

  1. This looks amazing!! I’ve redone a closet and painted several rooms in my apt. I think you did a bang up job…totally professional.

Leave a Reply

