Inspiration out of the blue!

I’ve been thinking about gray slipcovers for my sofa and chair.  That’s what the plan was.  Fortunately, I didn’t purchase any fabric yet.

Why fortunately?  Well, because inspiration snuck up on me from an unexpected source.

When we moved, I wrapped a few door mirrors in a quilt to protect them.  The quilt was a wedding present from my aunt and has been very well loved and used.  The  top was white, yellow, red and navy.   The back was a beautiful light navy.  I had wrapped the mirrors with the top of the quilt facing in, leaving the navy showing on the outside.

I’ve had this wrapped bundle leaning against one of the living room walls since we moved in.  When I moved all of the furniture into the dining area so I could work in the living room portion, the bundle moved too.  I put it on top of a stack of boxes, and it slipped a bit to the side.  It tilted just enough that a corner of it was over the primed white trim while the rest was in front of the green wall.

As I made my mad lunge to save it from the floor, I was struck by the juxtaposition of color.  Navy, mossy green and white.  Hmmmm.

I popped into the Sherwin Williams Visualizer and played around with it for a bit.  Here’s what it looked like when I chose a gray similar to what I had in mind.

It’s all right, I guess, but boring.  A little too subtle, if you know what I mean.

Here’s the same room with dark blue on the furniture.

Much better, I think.

So, now I’m leaning toward blue.  Either a dark royal or a light navy.  But I’d love other opinions!

What would you suggest?  Gray or blue?  Or something I haven’t even thought of?  Let me know.  I’d love to see your suggestions.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

