Possibly the world’s best boss…

Several months ago, my boss announced to the staff that he was going to give each of us up to $500 as a non-taxable benefit.  We were advised to bring in ONE reciept, and he would then cut a cheque for the $500 for us.

My first thought was, “What an incredibly generous offer!”  After all, just because he COULD do this tax free, doesn’t mean he HAD to, after all.  He works harder at making my workplace a good place to be than any of us.  And, at 80 years old, there are certainly other ways he could be spending his time and money.

In case you’re thinking a frail, shruken little man, shuffling into the office because he has nothing better to do, I want to correct the misconception.  My boss is 6’1″, rangy and active.  Last year, he had a terrible snomobiling accident that broke several ribs, a few cervical vertebrae and his collar bone.  He was back in the office (in a wheelchair) within 6 weeks.  He’s sorta like what you imagine an action hero will be when he’s 80 – at least physically.  And, as his offer proves, he truly does care for and respect us “girls” who work for him.  He’s the sort of man you want to call him “Sir” because you instinctively thinks he deserves it, but he prefers you to call him by his initials – or his first name.  He really is a gem and none of us ever want to disappoint him.

My second thought was, “Wheee!!!!   Free money!”

My third thought was, “What the heck am I going to buy?”

The Ogre wants a laptop, I’d love to have a bridge camera.  We both NEED new glasses.  There are bills to pay….

We talked about it.  A lot.  $500 is a fair chunk of change to me, my friends.  I didn’t want to just blow it.  Not when it could really do nice things for us and/or our home.  I offered to share it with the Ogre (’cause I’m just that kind of girl!), but he believes that it should be just for me – or, at least, the decision should be.

In the end, I had decided to purchase pieces for our home instead of our selves.  Every time I see them, I’d be reminded of the graciousness and goodness of the man I’m fortunate enough to work for.

So, what did I buy?

Well, now… that’s the question isn’t it?

I had planned on going to Ikea.  I even printed out a shopping list.  It’s been a very long time since I’ve been there.  And I’ve NEVER been in the new store here in Ottawa – the largest in Canada!  I’d been in the old one – which was the smallest, I think.  But that was a couple of years ago when I ran in to buy a new floor lamp.  This trip was meant to be a TAD more serious than that!

Then, I invited the Ogre to come with me.  And he started lobbying for me to purchase something I’ve been thinking about that’s just been WAAAAYYY beyond our budget.  Personally, I think he’s been feeling a tad guilty that he’s going to get a free laptop in the next couple of weeks.  Of course, I could be wrong.  (I occasionally am, you know!)

His argument was that I’ve been working hard to become a better photographer with a point and shoot and would get more value out of a digital SLR than 4 Ikea bookcases, some curtains and a patio umbrella.  My argument was that the bookcases and curtains would finish the living room and the umbrella would make it far more likely that I’d sit outside.

He won.  Yup.  He wore me down.

I went to Best Buy and purchased a Canon Rebel T3.  Not even a bridge camera.  A real, honest to goodness DSLR!  Which I have NO fricken clue how to use.

But blogging has become very important to me… and photos are a part of that.  Now, my challenge is to use this thing well.  To honor the boss who gave me the $$$ for it as well as the Ogre who bullied persuaded me to purchase it.

Still, the idea that I just dropped THAT MUCH MONEY on a camera has me shaking a bit.  It doesn’t matter that it wasn’t MY money.  It was still a lot.  I’m going to do my best to see this little camera (now named “Rascal”) as an investment in myself and my blog rather than a frivolity.

By the way, I purchased the Canon Rebel because Kevin and Josh from Shoot Fly Shoot recommended it as a “good” camera.  Since Layla (and Kevin) inspired me to blog through my exposure to The Lettered Cottage, it’s only fittin’ that I go with a recommendation from Kevin.  Of course, if he’s wrong, I will have to hunt him down… but that’s another post!

The Rebel’s battery is charging right now, so you’ll have to make do with a photo I took of the new camera with my Sony!  I know, not what you had expected, right?  But, it’s what I got, folks.  Deal.

Now it’s your turn.  Have you dithered about a big purchase recently?  Did you make one?  I’d love to hear your story!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Possibly the world’s best boss…

Leave a Reply

