Adventures in Gardening – it all begins here!

Today began far, far too early for me – mostly because I stayed up very late relaxing by watching movies and learning a bit about my new Canon Rebel T3.  You see, Home Depot was having a sale on earth.  Yup, I got up early to buy dirt.  Go figure.

I picked up my gardening guru, Roxane and away we went!  We ended up getting 15 bags for me.  At which point, I came home and unloaded it all into my back yard.

You have to appreciate the irony here.  I am a farmer’s daughter who has never HAD a garden of any sort – and I got up early to PAY for dirt, then lug it across a parking lot and into my backyard… by myself.  (The Ogre is recouperating from walking pneumonia and I’m really trying not to push him too much!  Also, the house and backyard are MY projects and MY designs.  It stands to reason that I’m the one who does the work.  Sort of like the little red hen, but I’m not asking for help – and I’d have LOTS of helped if I asked.)

I wondered about the quanity we purchased, but Roxane assures me that this will not go to waste.  It’s my first real step into the world of gardening, and I’m so thankful that I have someone to hold my hand!

Once the truck was unloaded, I just left the bags in the back yard and grabbed the camera for a few shots.  I love my husband, but I think I’m in LOVE with this camera!  I have no idea of how to really use it yet, but I’m starting to follow the tutorials by Aimee at It’s Overflowing.  I haven’t put any of it into practice yet, but I’m hoping to make time for that tomorrow.

Until then, here’s a shot of one of my plants in the kitchen window…  Alive!  And this is probably the best picture I have EVER taken in my life.

I’m off to clean my living room floors and patio doors from the painting last weekend.  Don’t tell anyone, but I haven’t done that yet!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Adventures in Gardening – it all begins here!

Leave a Reply

