Slow starting days mean smaller projects…or none at all!

After Friday’s foray into bread making, I bagged up some goodies and did a post midnight ninja delivery run to three very good friends.  They all woke up Saturday morning to emails saying “check your door”.  When they did, they found bread or rolls for breakfast.  One of these lovely ladies quite regularly ninja’s me with her belgium waffles.  It feels so good to be the recipient of things like this, that I had to share it with others.  Sneaky is good.

Sneaky, however, also meant that I stayed up late.  I’m not an early bird, so I chose to do the delivery run after midnight instead of before dawn.

It was 10:30 before I pried myself from my warm, cozy bed.  Of course, I’m more an evening/night person anyway, so I can’t blame the ninja run!  Weekends frequently find me struggling to get to bed before 3am!

Late starts like this, though, mean smaller project days… sometimes puttering days… sometimes days where very little gets done.  Big things, like room painting or yard work are for days when I get up early and am rearing to go.    Slow start days, particularly damp, rainy ones, are much less industrious.

I’m trying to learn how to pace myself and not feel guilty about what I DON’T get accomplished.  I had plans for Saturday that never saw the light of day.  I’m learning that it’s OK to have days of sloth.  In fact, I NEED days of sloth or I end up being far less productive than if I had pushed myself too far.

Saturday was one of those days.

The only “projects” I worked on was a bit of housecleaning and some hand sewing of curtains.  I battled the laundry monster to a draw and spent some really nice time with the Ogre.

Nothing to see here, folks.  Move on, move on.

Taking care of the necessary chores may not be the most creative way to spend a day, but it does mean that I’m free to move on to other things now.  It’s always nice to have a clean(er) home and fresh clothes to wear!  (Going to work naked is really not encouraged!)

And, of course, time with the Ogre is something I truly cherish.

I hope you, too, take guilt free down time when you need it.  It’s a hard thing to allow yourself to do sometimes, but it does give us back some of what we need to move on with our days and lives.

Here’s to “Days of Sloth”.  (scheduled or not!)

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

