Bookcase Week – The mini-reveal!

OK, so this isn’t REALLY the big reveal.  It’s a mini-reveal.  There are still a few things that need completing before we get to the end.

Nonetheless, it’s time to show you what they look like against the wall.

If you remember, these cases started out as a motley array of beech and birch finished, multi-sized lovelies.  Some from K-Mart (when Canada still HAD a K-Mart), some from Zellers and some inherited from The Girl, I think.  There were also three short Billy’s that the Ogre and I purchased about 12 years ago.

After some Gorilla Glue and homemade chalk-y paint, the pieces were left to cure for several days before loading up again.  (Here’s where I take a deep breath and hope you all like it as much as I do!)

Then, I put the Ogre to work.  It’s only fair that we share the chores, I think!

So, coffee in hand, he sorted.  And sorted.  And stopped to review a page or two here and there.

It was a larger job than anticipated, so he didn’t finish it all at once.  Here’s a mid-way shot!

What a difference from when we started the room!

The living room is inching it’s way to completion.  It is so nice to have it in a mostly completed state.  Even now, I like to visit it in the morning and just sit for a minute or two before I head out to work.  I think I’m falling in love with it!

Linking up with

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

5 thoughts on “Bookcase Week – The mini-reveal!

  1. Oh I really love the transformation. What a difference you’ve made to the space.

    Aloha,
    Following ya from the May Day Hop. Come join the ride at localsugarhawaii.com– I promise tons of sweetness!!!

    xoxo,
    Nicole
    localsugarhawaii.com

Leave a Reply

