Stepping away from something I love…

I am a belly dance instructor, choreographer, costumer.  I am a dancer.

I came to dance at the age of 40.  For the first time, I found the movement that expressed my spirit and soul.  And I loved each and every moment of it.

This last year, I’ve been pushing myself a bit too far physically.  My fibromyalgia seems to be flaring more frequently, and my daily level of pain has risen.  On days after I dance, I feel broken and am in moderate pain.  My focus is gone, my work suffers.  My life suffers on those “after” days.

I’ve been thinking that I may have to step back.  Not forever… just for the spring and summer.  My head says that’s a good idea.

My heart?  Well, it doesn’t think leaving dance, even temporarily, will be good at all, at all.  It will mourn dance.

I haven’t made a firm decision yet, so I’m open to “direction”.

What do you think?  Follow my head?  Follow my heart?  Which would you choose?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Stepping away from something I love…

Leave a Reply

