Consoling myself…

Hey, I thought the title was witty!  Consoling… console… get it?

Ummm.  Yeah…  Moving on.

I’ve always loved sofa backs and serving consoles.  To me, they are so obviously functional, but also an opportunity to bring character and ornamentation.  Sofa backs, in particular, also allow you to anchor your sofa somewhere other than up against the wall.  And I LIKE that.

I happen to be fortunate enough to have two pieces of furniture that I plan on repurposing into dining and living room consoles.  The first is an mdf “table” left behind by a roommate many years ago.  It’s been painted zillions of times, I think, and I’ve never really used it for anything more than storage in the basement.

   

I’ve been thinking about reworking the configuration of this if I can.  My idea of a sofa back or console includes a space for a chair or two.  Now that the Ogre has a laptop, it would be a good place to set that up when it’s required.  (Like when I want to blog while in the living room!)  Or, failing all else, it would allow me to move one or two of the dining room chairs to a less travelled location .  In it’s current state, you can’t pull chairs up close enough to sit at it comfortably, so something MUST BE DONE.

Each of the “legs” on this piece is actually made up of three mdf boards.  I’m thinking that I can probably make a stable base for the table with only three of these pieces.  That would leave me three boards to be repurposed as shelves when it’s finally time for my craft room!

The second piece is the Malm 3-piece headboard – a headboard with two rolling bookcases.  I won’t be reconfiguring this, just re-purposing.  The bookcases themselves can be turned to face the shell if I want to hide things, or face out if we (meaning me) use it for display.  This piece will be in the dining room, and will be able to serve as a serving piece as well as a display/storage space.

Both have modern lines, which are very nice and clean in a small space, but they’re a bit boring.  I’ve been thinking about adding a little interest by using chalk -y  paint for the frame/body and the paper bag finish for the tops.  Still clean-lined, but a bit more interesting and a nod to the traditional.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

