Thinking ahead

Surely, I can’t be the only person who is working on one (or three) projects while thinking of the zillions yet to come!  I can’t be that unique – even if I am “special” sometimes!

I’m pretty much like that no matter what I’m doing, but it seems to be even more emphasized in the DIY/Decorating department.

For example…

I’ve been limiting myself to working on one room at a time.  Mostly so I can actually have a finished refuge or two, but also because it just feels right.

I worked on the Closet Mudroom until it was done.  Then, I moved on to the First Floor Hallway.  When that was finished, it was time for the Living/Dining room.  Which meant painting, redoing bookcases, and prioritizing the other zillion things that the room needs to be complete.  Right now, I’m working on the console table/sofa back.  Once that’s complete, the dining room console will need doing, the coffee table will need renovating, the dining room table will get redone and the gray velvet chair will need completing.  Some sort of art will also need to be created.

There’s also the Patio/Garden… which I’m working on when I can.  That project has seen me move the dozens of concrete pavers that were there, create a walkway to the gate and rip up every single blade of grass.  There’s still the grading of the soil, the (re)placement of the stones, the tilling and augmenting of the soil and the actual planting to go.  Not to mention the painting of the cushions I rescued from the curb and the creation of some sort of art for the space.

Even with all of this going on (not to mention the 40 hour work week my employer prefers I actually show up for!), I’m thinking about the next room.  In my head, I’ve got the perfect Guest Room planned.  And, suddenly, a Studio for my costuming and DIY things popped into my head.

I’m trying very hard to stick to “one thing at a time”, but it’s tough sometimes.  There’s a struggle to keep to the plan.

Thinking about it, I’m realizing that it’s the planning and dreaming that keeps me going.   Even though I’d love to come home to a beautiful home and not feel rushed or pressured to get things done, the idea that I might actually come to a definitive end and finish everything is not something I really want to think about!

Of course, it helps that I know it really won’t end, ever.  There will always be another project.

Which is wonderful for my sanity… but not so great for the Ogre’s!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Thinking ahead

  1. Making your house a home will never end. There is always a new project and something to do!! Never fear! Just give the Ogre a book and send him to a corner out of the way and keep going. That will protect his sanity and yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

