Console in progress

I was able to dismantle the table “legs” which gave me six sheets of mdf.  I decided to use three for the legs and put three aside for shelving in my craft room.
The configuration I chose was a simple “U”.  I screwed the legs to the top portion and used Gorilla Glue ensure a really good bond.
I also used L-brackets to firm things up, but I wasn’t quick enough to wipe off the extra glue, I’m afraid.
It still wasn’t quite as stable as I’d like, so I took one of the left over boards and added it to the back of the “U”.  Adding this piece really made a difference in the stability.  Now, there’s no wiggle when you push on one side or the other.  As well, this gives the piece a definitive front and back.  It does limit potential seating to 3 – but it’s a console, not a dining table, so it will only be used as an actual dining table in case of overflow!  Otherwise, it’s really just a spot for one person to sit.
(Please trust that the back piece is level and square.  The slant showing above is just a result of the angle I took the picture at.  Honest!)
After attaching the back stabilizer, I did scrape off the extra glue and sanded a few rough spots.  From here, it was just a matter of applying a few coats of paint.
The top got a slightly different treatment.  I painted only the sides and the underside.  That’s because I’ll be doing a paper bag top to give it a bit of “pop”!
You’ll have to wait for that part, though!  The weekend is only so long, you know.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

