Guest Room Design Board

In planning the guest room, I’ve been thinking about the people who may be sleeping there.  The list really isn’t very long right now – we don’t often have guests.

Firstly, would be my Mom.  Dad rarely travels now, but Mom LOVES to visit her kids when she can.  She’s a 7-10 day guest – and welcome for every single second that she spends here.

Second would be the Ogre’s parents.  They live in the province and usually only stay for a night or two.

After that, we may have a few visits by siblings and friends, but those are few and far between.

Believe it or not, the most frequent user of the room will probably be me!  When I’m having a bad night and can’t sleep, I need a place to be that’s restful where I won’t disturb the Ogre’s sleep.

So the design of the rom is really being based on what I like and what I want my Mom to have when she’s here.

I’ve fallen in love with the Benjamin Moore’s Light Yellow that’s in my first floor hallway.  Even after three months of living with it, it makes me happy and smile every single time I see it.  It’s a cheerful yellow without being screaming.  It reminds me of summer and cottages and sunlight.   It’s a very good choice for me for a guest room wall color.

The trim, as everywhere else, will be Benjamin Moore’s Stone White.  It’s a blue based trim that just feels so very clean and crisp to me.  I’ll be painting out the dresser and night table with it as well.

My friend, Laura, gave me a wonderful old chenille bedspead and some net lace curtains.  Perfect for the cottage-y feel I’d like here.

For a pop of color, I’m looking at a red headboard and bedskirt, and turquoise accent pieces.

And yes, I know that the turquoise and the red don’t work very well with the pictures of the lamp and bedspread.  That’s because the pictures aren’t true in color!  It’ll look much better in the room, I think.

I’m up in the air at the moment about accessorizing, but that can wait until I actually get the room looking like a room instead of a large storage closet!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Guest Room Design Board

  1. Hi Liz. I just found you through Not Just a Housewife. Great ideas for the guest room! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!. And your living room looks lovely and inviting. I’m your latest follower and a fellow newbie. I hope you’ll come check me out at crazythriftycrafts.blogspot.com. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

