Happy Victoria Day Weekend!

This is one of the major long weekends here in Canada.  For most of the country, it’s time to work on our gardens, now that the chance of overnight frost is over.  It’s also time to freshen our homes and just plain get outside to enjoy the weather.

The forecast for us this weekend is splendid!  Warm days, with cooler nights and lots and lots of sunshine.  The perfect late spring/early summer sort of weather.

My weekend plans are simple – do as much as I can on Saturday and Sunday and save Monday for recovery!

Friday night will see me working on indoor projects, but I’m hoping to get to bed fairly early so I can get my Saturday started early.  These projects include filling holes in the guest room walls, painting some velvet  (no card-playing dogs or Elvis!), and creating some art for the guest room.

I’m hoping to get to my back yard early on Saturday morning. Although the Ogre has offered his assistance, I’d really like to give getting it done myself a try. I’ve got a 10’X 10′ patio to place – which means lots of raking and leveling of dirt. It’s really the only thing I want to get done on Saturday, so I’m going to pace myself and take the time to do a good job.

If I have enough stamina once the patio is in, I’ll also do a bit of earth turning and work in the earth I purchased.

Saturday will most likely end with a nice hot bath!

On Sunday, I’m hoping to get my planting done. I’ve got some seedlings in my kitchen window and some seed packets and roots in my basement. Getting those things to their new homes and praying that they survive the journey will be a fun and interesting experience!

I’m hoping that Sunday evening sees me looking out my patio door at a mostly finished space! Patio stones down, furniture in place, plants settling comfortably in and getting ready to thrive.

How about you? What are your weekend plans? Any big projects? Any little projects? I’d love to hear what you’re going to be up to!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Happy Victoria Day Weekend!

Leave a Reply

