Thankful Thursday

I’m a Registered Insurance Broker by profession.  During busy season, which this is, I deal with many, many people and documents each and every work day.  There are times I simply get “peopled out” and long for quiet, alone time.

Today, I am thankful for solitude in all it’s forms.  The 10 minutes it takes me to walk to work when my muscles and the weather co-operate.  The hour long lunch times I use to run to Salvation Army, the Dollarama, Canadian Tire or Winners – not to shop, but to walk the aisles and fill my eyes.

I’m thankful for the hour or so I have before I go to work… either catching up on email, reading blogs or just communing with the kitty while I enjoy my coffee.

I’m thankful for the rare times when the Ogre goes to bed first and I am the only creature awake in the house… and even for the times when I can’t sleep, and sit alone in the darkness looking outside at the night.

There’s something so rejuvenating about time spent alone.  I don’t meditate, and frequently fill that alone time with “busy work”.  Still, every now and then, I’m smart enough to realize what a gift being alone can be and just savor the moment.

Alone time is where my batteries really recharge, where my creativity has it’s roots and where my soul calms itself and knows that all is well with my world.

Today, I give thanks for that – and honor it.

How about you?  What are you thankful for?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

