Confession Time…

I’ve been looking around my home in the last few days and I’ve come to a startling conclusion.  Are you ready for the confession?

You see, I’ve been so fixated on projects and getting rooms (living room, hallway, mudroom) and my back yard done that I’ve been shamefully neglecting basic house cleaning.

Vacuuming?  Dusting?  Sweeping?  Ummm… nope.  Not nearly enough, anyway.  Thank goodness the Ogre has been taking care of the laundry or we’d be running around nekkid!

You see, I have this tendency to immerse myself into something to the exclusion of all else.  I’ve been so focused on getting things “done”, that I’ve slipped into a quagmire of “things not done” (iff’n ya know what I mean).

I’ve always admired women who can do a little each day and keep their houses tidy and neat.  I’m more the “too busy for that stuff” kind of girl… until my untidy home slaps me upside the head.

Consider me slapped.

This weekend, there won’t be any “pretty” to work on until the whole, entire, every. single. thing. that. does. not. move. house gets cleaned.  Top to bottom.  Soup to nuts.  The whole enchilada!

I get off work at 2pm today, so I’ll be able to start as soon as I get home.  First on the agenda will be our bedroom.  Dust and clean absolutely every surface and put fresh bedding on.  That, at least, will give us a nice fresh place to lay our little heads when the day is finally done.

Next will be the upstairs bath and hall.  Followed by a serious vacuuming of the stairway.

With the upstairs done, I’ll feel a lot better about relaxing on Friday night.  And I may even look forward to getting up early on Saturday to attack the first floor.

Who knows… it COULD happen!

Anyone else out there who focuses a tad toooooo much on the pretty and not quite enough on the necessary?  Please, please tell me that there is.  I’d hate to be alone in this!

 

 

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Confession Time…

  1. Cleaning house was exceedingly important when the children were little. Now they are big and occasionally do their share… the house tends to get dusty and even messy but I figure: we cactually LIVE (and one of us works) here. It is not a showplace or a Museum. It gets well tidied before *company* most of the time… and before a party for sure. You are NOT alone!! :-))

    My friend Mardi has a fridge magnet that says: Dull women have immaculate homes. ‘Nuf said.

Leave a Reply

