Visiting the Kaleidoscope!

We have the same parents, grew up in the same home – even shared a bedroom for years.  Our outlook on life is similar, as is our work ethic and personal morality.  On many, many levels, we are virtually similar.

Still, there are some dramatic differences between my younger sister and I.

I’m 8 years older than she.  My early years were the late 60’s – hers, the mid to late 70’s.  I’m a cat person, she loves her puppy!

I yearn for quiet, muted, refined with touches of brighter color.  She?  Well, she could quite happily live in a kaleidoscope!

This is important to know.  You see, she’s getting a new apartment of her own.  And has graciously accepted big sister’s offer to help with the decorating.

Which puts big sister in an unusual place.  I’ve never decorated for anyone but the Ogre and I.  Ever.  Here, in my home, my taste rules… with input, of course, from the Ogre.

But in her home?  Well, let’s just say that I’m going to have to stretch a LOT to get my eyes and head around it.

We agree that distressed furniture is NOT what either of us like.  We agree on many of the shape details – high-backed sofas, with big, comfy cushions.  Fabric… lots and lots of flowing fabric.   Tons of storage.  Bookcases.  Lighting of every sort.  Yup, we’re on the same page there.

But color?  Not so much.

So, in preparation, I’ve been following her pins on Pinterest. A feew weeks ago, we spent several hours together wandering stores.  We visited Value Village, Home Outfitters, Dollarama, Goodwill and the Salvation Army.  I was wearing my black low-heeled pumps, she was wearing her white Nikes with fluorescent orange laces.

She’s got a brilliant sense of color, and a very keen eye for shape.

I may not be ready to live in her kaleidoscope, but I’m pretty sure I’d enjoy a visit there!

Her living room and kitchen will most likely be an absolute riot of color, so I decided to that her bedroom should be a bit more sedate.  At the end of her day, she’ll need a refuge.   Everything but the four seasons art is from the Ikea website.  That way, if it’s something she wants to go with, it’s a one-stop shopping session to get the framework of her room!

Here’s a mood board I’ve put together for her.  She hasn’t seen it yet, but I’m sure she’ll let me know where I’m off!  That’s one of the privileges of being the younger sister, I think.

Happy Memorial Day to my American Friends!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

