Friday, already!

It astonishes me just how quickly the week seems to fly by.  Suddenly, Friday is here and it’s time for some serious weekend work!

Today, however, rather than going home and getting right into a project, I have something else planned.  I’ll be hooking up with my sister and getting a guided tour of her new apartment!

Of course, I’ll bring a few things with me, to help us out.  A pad of paper and a pen, a measuring tape and my camera will all be essential!

Also required will be an open mind, and a whack of creativity.

You see, my sister currently works as a personal support worker, but she JUST found out that she’s passed the provincial exams that will allow her to act as a licensed massage therapist.  It will be a while before her license is actually issued, but that gives us time to prepare.

Right now, all I know about her new place is the basics.  It’s a one bedroom with kitchen, living room and bath.  Enough for someone to make a bright little nest – unless, of course, it has to perform more than one function.

Once she receives her license, she’ll want to start building her business during her free time.  Renting a studio would be counterproductive, so she’s going to need a space in her apartment to act as a “treatment room”.

It will have to be a personalized space, but not a “personal” one.  An area easily accessed so clients don’t have to tromp through her whole apartment to get there, and something large enough to hold her massage table, as well as a small table and chair with filing area where she can set up her client files.  It must be a place that can be sound dampened and scented if the client requires.  But mostly, it must be a place that PROMISES relaxation and relief.

Oh, and we have to do it on a itty-bitty-teensy-weeny budget.

Good thing we like a challenge, us Chaisson girls!

Once I have photos and we know where we are taking this space, her home will show up on the blog occasionally.  Keep watching, because it will certainly be different from my space!

What are your design plans this weekend?  Any challenges that you’ll need to unleash your creativity for?  I’d really like to hear about them!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

