My Mommy’s Coming to Visit!

In three short weeks, my Mom will be here for a 10 day visit.  This may not seem momentous to anyone but my sister and I.  But Mom lives on PEI, and my sister Carolyn and I live here in Ottawa, ON.

We do speak by phone, but visits are few and far between.  We either have the time to visit OR the money to do so.  Sometimes, though, the stars align and it all falls into place!

This time, it’s due to my youngest sister.  She’s a military wife and her husband is away for a few weeks at the end of June.  She’s packing up her little girls, popping them and my Mom into her car and heading out to spend time with her in-laws in Montreal.  Fortunately, Montreal is only a short trip from here!  I’ll go and pick up Mom, visit with my sister and the littles (and her lovely in-laws!) for the day, then drive quickly away with my Mom stashed in my truck!  [About 10 days later, I’ll reverse the process and I won’t be nearly as excited then 😦 ]

Anyhow….

I’m so thankful that I’ve managed to get the living room (except for trim at the ceiling) done.  The first floor is definitely Mom-ready.

The second floor, however, not so very much at all, at all!

I’ve got to get an actual guest room completed.  Not that Mom would mind, I know.  She’s coming to see my sister and I, not my house.  But she’s done so very much for me and loved me through my absolute worst times that I want to have a pretty, restful haven for her here.  After all, she’s “ditching” Dad for the duration and is going to need some benefits tossed her way!

Here’s what the room looked like when I thought to take a few photos.  I’m not quite sure WHAT I did wrong with my camera, so I’m going to ask you to forgive the poor quality.

Last weekend was a rainy weekend, which always throws me off my game.  However, I did manage to finish the “Stay Calm and Sleep In” artwork on Saturday and get the second (and third) coat of spackle on the areas that needed it.  I also moved the mattress and box spring into the storage bedroom (which will one day be my craft room/studio space!)

Sunday was designated as sanding, priming and painting day.  I wet sand spackle, just to cut down on the amount of dust in tee air, and that goes fairly quickly.  Then, I taped off the floor.  I didn’t bother taping off the ceiling as the primer really doesn’t show against the ceiling paint.  It does mean I have to be very careful cutting in when I’m using color, but I find that easier than trying to tape off popcorn ceilings!

With the tape in place, I primed.  This room, like all of the other painted rooms in this house, had been done in two colors.  There were two very pale blue walls and two bright pastel blue walls.  Two coats of primer covered enough that I could move on.

With the walls primed, I quit for the day and moved on to a hot, hot bath.  It’s amazing how much paint I can get on myself!

There’s still a lot to be done!  The yellow paint for the walls, the white on the trim will be done during the week, I hope!  I’ve got a dresser and night table to paint, lamps to re-do, an upholstered headboard and pleated bedskirt to finish, curtains and a blind to hang… and the list continues.

But it’s for my Mom.  And she is soooooo very worth every bit of it!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

