Thankful Thursday – Technology

There are some evenings I sit here and marvel.

The Ogre is playing World of Warcraft with his on-line chums.  Headset and mouthpiece on, he marshalls his forces and runs around killing things!  (It keeps him off the streets and out of my hair, so I’m good with it!).

Don’t think I’m being ignored.  Our screens back each other, and we can make eye contact simply by looking up.  Or arm waving, if it’s required.  Nonetheless, despite his apparent immersion, he knows I’m around and frequently checks in on me.  It works for us.

While he plays WoW, I watch movies he doesn’t enjoy, surf the web for inspiration, blog and craft.  I find new things, learn new skills, plan projects and visit the entire world out there – all from my chair!

To make it even more amazing, I’ve recently gotten his laptop configured to work as a secondary system for me.  If I get tired of being in the basement, and want to read an e-book in the living room, I can now.  Or I can take it out to the back yard when it’s not raining and enjoy the sunshine with a good read, some awesome music or some decorating inspiration!

We’re not a totally technologically immersed family… neither of us has a cell phone – and we like it that way.  What we do have are computers that open the world to us.  It’s like having access to the world’s largest library, museum, music store and arcade- all in one!

And the best thing?  Because I’m sort of a tech geek, all three of our systems come to a financial investment of approximately $200 (Canadian).  How’s that for frugal?

It’s interesting how it touches all our lives and how different we each react to it.  The Ogre isn’t really a fan of tech, just a fan of what it allows him to do.  I, on the other hand, get excited over hard drives and web coding, software configuration and updating hardware!

How about you?  Are you a technophobe, or do you revel in technology?  Do you use it because you MUST or do you actually enjoy the technology behind the internet and your blog?  Is your smart phone attached to you or do you walk away from all of it?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – Technology

  1. Funny. Drew plays Minecraft {or I call it MineCRACK} and I do the same. Blog, watch chick flicks. I text him when dinner is ready because he wont be able to hear me through his headphones. Ah, technology!

Leave a Reply

