Workin’ it on the weekend!

On Friday, I had the opportunity to leave work at 2pm instead of my normal 4:30.  Summer work hours are great!

I was able to get home at 2:07pm (I live REALLY close to work!).  I chose to spend the time between getting home and the time I normally get home with the Ogre.

I worked on a few small projects – the kind I can do at my computer desk/craft station.  I started with putting a few coats of paint on a maple leaf shaped cutting board I purchased at the Salvation Army.  Once it’s complete, it will hang on my front door for the remainder of June, heralding Canada Day!

Then, I moved on to using power tools.  Well, I used my drill – and that counts in my world!  I had previously purchased a 2 X 2″ board from Home Depot and had them cut 6″ lengths for me.  I marked the center of the pieces and drilled a pilot hole in the center of each.  Then I inserted a metal “dowel-type” connector I salvaged from some mdf furniture pieces I salvaged for the “wood”.  A drop or two of Gorilla glue and a few hammer strikes later, the connectors are jutting out from the edge of the wood piece.

These pieces are meant to be bed risers for the metal frame of the double bed in the guest room.  They’ll be inserted where the wheels that came with the frame originally attached.  This way, the bed won’t move AND will be higher – which is a plus for those of our guests who find it more “challenging” to get up from a lower position.

I primed the wood and gave it two nice coats of Benjamin Moore’s Stone White.  Then I glued some bright orange craft foam to the bottom of the pieces.  This will protect the floor from incidental scratching from the wood.

The orange wass NOT a statement.  It was just what I happened to have in my craft drawer, so I painted it.

The Ogre ran upstairs to make us a yummy dinner and I just started to put my toys away when I had a paint disaster!  A half full (or better) gallon of Benjamin Moore made a run for freedom!  Even though I lunged to grab it, I missed it by “this much” and it flew to the floor.  On the way down, it bounced of my computer chair – which served to knock the lid off!

It made a really pretty puddle on the floor, but I was too panicked and determined to save what I could to take a photo.

I grabbed an old plastic container and a “chippy” brush and pushed as much of the paint into the container as I could.  Each time it got full, I dumped it into the paint can.  I managed to salvage about 2/3 of what hit the floor – which I thought was terrific!

Then, it was time to clean up for dinner!  THAT took a fair amount of time!  Somehow, I had paint EVERYWHERE on myself!

Dinner accomplished, I scooted upstairs and gave the guest room what I most certainly hope is the last coat of paint.  The weather has been very humid, and it’s been a challenge to get clean coats on.  Of course, as soon as I finished it, the sky clouded over… so I wasn’t going to be able to tape it off to paint the trim tonight.

I closed up the can (firmly), wrapped my roller and brush well, left the window and door open and moved back to the basement for the remainder of the evening.

After all, I still had LOTS of projects I could do there!

Like planning what to do to with this beauty I found on the curb Friday morning!

And sewing the box-pleated bed skirt…

To prove you can make fabric things without a sewing machine if you choose…

Backstitched seam with button hole stitch binding the edges

All in all, not a bad start to the weekend!

What are your plans?  Projects?  I’d love to know.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

