Guest Room Update

Before I get into the tutorials, I have to share something wonderful! My “Keep Calm…” art was featured at the All Stars Block Party! How amazingly cool is that???

Simply Done Wright

OK. Now that I’ve shared that, it’s time to move on!

I’ve been working furiously on getting the guest room done before my Mom comes on June 22nd.  While I know she doesn’t care WHAT the room looks like, it’s in my heart to make it the most comfortable, welcoming room I can for her.

The room started off like this…

Excuse the quality of the photos.  I’m not quite sure what happened there!

That’s a bright blue paired with a paler view on oposing walls.  The previous tenants had used this room as a playroom for their three children, and had built in a fair amount of shelving, as the spackle spots would indicate.

I filled all the holes, then used two coats of primer to get all of the surfaces back to white.  From there, I use Benjamin Moore’s Light Yellow on the walls and Stone white on the trim.  It makes a nice, sunny space that feels like summer.

I’m currently painting the furniture that will live in this room and working on the bed skirt and headboard. Once I’m done with those, there’s a cushion and a few pillows that will need to be made out of the lovely blue and white brocade my friend Roxane gifted me.

I was lucky enough to find the PERFECT chair for this room on the curb.  I’ve finished painting it, and it’s now waiting for a seat cushion.  This is what it looked like when it came home with me.

I have finished up a few pieces of artwork for this room.  I’ve posted about the “Keep Calm…” piece here, but I haven’t shown you the second piece I made for the room.  This one ties in all of the room’s main colors- the yellow, white and blue.

There’s more, of course, but that would take away from the final reveal!  (And we don’t want that, do we?)

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

