Indespensable Colors…

Years ago, I watched Lynette Jennings with religious fervour.  She retired from the home decor scene in 2002, and now concentrates on painting beautiful pieces on canvas.

I remember her stating that a room wasn’t complete without a touch of black.  Black grounds the room and adds an element of sophistication, no matter how casual the space.

I agreed with her.  Vehemently, in fact!  However, as I’ve aged and become more comfortable with my own tastes, I’ve come to a realization.

Lynette was only half right.  (gasp!)

In my home, a room is not complete without a touch of black AND a bit of red.  Somehow, that hit of red, no matter how small, just makes a room pop for me.  It gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling, and tells me that the room is complete.

Here.  This is what I mean…

Red candlesticks with black upper, black pots for faux topiary, red matting in frame and art above photo.

Red in hummingbird on black lamp base.

Keeping that in mind, I HAVE to have something red in the guest room.  The “Keep Calm” piece fits the bill nicely!

There will be other touches, of course, but this is the big one.

But I’m stumped at what to bring in for the black.  Hmmmm…..

Any ideas?  What are your indespensable colors?  The colors that finish your rooms?  Have a look around.  I’m sure you’ll see a pattern there!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

5 thoughts on “Indespensable Colors…

  1. I used to watch Lynette Jennings faithfully. I hate she does not have a show anymore. I really like the red bird.

    Miss Blaise

Leave a Reply

