Guest Blogger – In Roxane’s Garden (Part Five)

I’m thrilled to be able to introduce you to my friend, creative mentor and gardening guru, Roxane.  She’s helping me out by being a guest blogger while I’m recovering. 

Some things you need to know about Roxane.  She’s absolutely one of the most vibrantly creative people I know.  She’s a Master Seamstress (and makes her living manipulating fabric and thread), a generous hostess and a whiz with her camera.  Her websites are Creative Clothing by Roxane, and Sewing the Titanic.  Please take the time to visit.

Roxane has one of the most exuberant, welcoming gardens I have ever seen.  Have a visit, why don’t you?

Part One of “In Roxane’s Garden”

Part Two of “In Roxane’s Garden”

Part Three of “In Roxane’s Garden”

Part Four of “In Roxane’s Garden”

****Delphinium close up. They are the July flower, grown for my daughter.Nasturtium, which can be used in your salad, both leaves and flowers. They are part of the Watercress family and taste like the variety you can buy at the grocery store.The Gaillardia grows with difficulty in a corner but DOES come back every year. I wish I could get a larger stand of it to grow!

 Chinese lantern prefer the shade and we get these flowers in the fall.These are the bluebells that really multiply very quickly… but they are pretty in flower! So delicate!

I grow these two shades of Astilbe near the pond for my husband who likes them a lot.

The Cosmos grow near the pond which you can see here, with the zebra grass in the glare of the flash. The star shaped green leaves towards the back left are papyrus that grow in the pond too, in summer. In winter I bring them inside and keep them in a pail as they must always be in 2-3 inches of water.

These two pictures show Rudbeckia. In the back ground of the second picture you can see the Artemisia (the grayish leafy plants), white mallows and the pink flowers are small geraniums.

Hen and Chicks on the left the green one and on the right these turn burgundy a little later.

The large mound of Cranesbill geranium is strongly perfumed… I love it. In the foreground is a kind of ground cover we have always called beet… but its not the comestible beet!

I also grow a vegetable garden with the usual tomatoes, chives, parsley, dill, sage, celeriac, green or red peppers (depends on the year!) This year I have added garlic… Really looking forward to eating that!  We have some raspberries that have crept under the fence from the neighbour’s garden. There is a small gooseberry bush and many many milkweed plants, which I keep for the Monarch Butterflies! I tried broccoli: but the cabbage moth gets at them first. There are small wild strawberry plants everywhere but the squirrels get at those first, as well as at most squash, cucumber and often green peppers I have tried…

Even more photos of Roxane’s beautiful garden.  Clicking on the image will bring them up in larger form.

 ***

And there you have it, folks!  Roxane’s Garden… well, the front yard, at least.  If we’re very, very good, she may be back later in the summer to show us her back yard and deck!

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Guest Blogger – In Roxane’s Garden (Part Five)

  1. Pingback: Houseleek | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

