Guest Blogger – Wherein THE GIRL has her say!

I’d like to introduce you to The Girl.  Rae is the owner/operator of Chartreuse Industries and offers basically every. single. service you need when you’re feeling time-crunched and need help.  Chartreuse came into being after her last maternity leave – when she realized that she felt no joy in being an insurance broker, but did feel accomplishment and achievement in giving folks the gift of a super clean place to call home.

She’s also mom to three very active littles – two girls, ages 10, 8 and a dynamo of a boy, age 3.   (I had the great blessing to see each of those littles come into the world!)  All in all, Rae’s a juggernaut who can breeze into your world, get you squared around, then breeze out again.  

Here are a few of her tips and thoughts.

Cleaning a Home: wherein I fill in for Liz. 

My mother dreams a home. She sees the space as her canvas, and is crafty & deft of hand. 

 I – her far to tall adopted girl – Clean them. With a vengeance.  My business began after I boasted of my mornings accomplishments on twitter. A friend asked for a quote. The rest? Well I hated insurance, and find cleaning rather zen truth be told. 

 So. About Cleaning. 

Is your house a mess? Toys underfoot? Laundry monster clean, but an unfolded mess somewhere? Kitchen splattered and dishes stacked?

You are not alone. I promise. 

Sometimes we stare at the cacophony around us and don’t know where to start. Well, the answer is simple. Start right where you are and work outward. Stop when you are tired or interrupted. 

I call it the flight of the bumble bee clean. You would be amazed what you can do in 10 minutes.  Even a bathroom can be cleaned in 10 minute increments if that’s all you have. 

Make the people you live with help. Even the tiny ones. Especially them. Teach them right from the beginning that toys are picked up nightly before bed! One less task for you!

On Chemicals: I prefer to clean with vinegar. It works better, smells better, is antibacterial, eats soap scum and is cheap. It’s also not like to give me cancer, which is grand. It’s also incredibly cheap. 

All you need is to make the time. If you lack a time turner or other time making device, I know a great housekeeper.  

R.

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

