Rituals

We all have rituals.  Each and every one of us has our own little “path to the position” or things we do in sequence to ready ourselves for an activity or event.  For those of us with sleep issues, these rituals sometimes mean the difference between falling asleep and resting, or tossing and turning my way to the morning alarm.

This candle forms a pivotal part of my nightime/evening ritual.  It’s a vanilla sandalwood scent, rich and deep.  The Ogre’s baby sister gave it to me as part of my Christmas gift and it is absolutely wonderful!

Each evening, I light the candle approximately an hour before I go to bed.  I place it on my night table, and leave the room.  While I do the normal night time activities, it scents our bedroom.  It also fills the room with a gentle glow that beckons me to bed when I’ve finished with everything else.

Once the candle is lit, I turn out all of the lights on the first and second floors, with the sole execption of the light over the stove.  All of this creates a dim environment that soothes and helps me get rid of the day.

When it’s time, I go back to our room.  The candle gives of just enough light that I don’t trip over the cat on my way!  I blow it out and slide between the sheets.  Most nights, the cat takes this as invitation and joins me, demanding petting.  Her purrs, the scent of the candle and the coziness of our bed are enough to lull me into that place where I can fall asleep.

How about you?  What do you do to get yourself into that place where sleep comes to you easily?  Or, for that matter, what rituals do you take part in for other parts of your day?

I’d really love to see your comments on the projects I do and the ideas I have.  I learn more from critiques than praise, but, honestly, I adore praise (and who doesn’t?).

Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “Rituals

  1. Pingback: Simple pleasures give you peace of mind in your business day « CEO of Myself

Leave a Reply

